top of page

The Natural Traveler: Packing a *Mostly* Eco-Friendly Toiletries Bag

I'm so excited for next week: I visit my goddaughter, best friend, and celebrate with another friend who is getting married! I'm not looking forward to wearing a mask for 8+ hours on the plane and in the airports, but I know it will be worth it in the end.

Packing for comfort, job hunting, and a wedding will take some effort--mainly because it's July and I'll be in Virginia--but my toiletries bag will contain only the basic necessities. Now, I want to mention that not everything is 100% reusable/recyclable/etc., but I worry more about packing a small, economical toiletries bag rather than a large one.


 

In My Bag: The *mostly* Eco-Friendly Toiletry Bag



If you love Dr. Bronner's Castille soap, you'll love the toothpaste! I was using a DIY tooth powder for a while, but I didn't really like it. After I was done with it, I switched to this toothpaste, and I LOVE it!


2. Crystal Deodorant

I had been using all the wrong deodorants for so long when I read about the harmful chemicals used in them. It was about 10 years ago when I discovered Crystal Deodorant, and I haven't looked back. You can buy a liquidized version of it, however, to save space in my quart-size bag, I'm using the regular solid version. I may have purchased a travel-sized one, but it's way smaller than the rock version I have!


Using bar soap when traveling is easy and more effective than carrying lots of little bottles of various soaps and shampoos. Using bar soap, you get shampoo, body wash, shaving cream, laundry soap, and more! I chose the citrus version to help me feel a little peppier in the morning!


4. Tea Tree Oil*

I use tea tree essential oil for acne, cuts, and more, so I simply decanted some from a larger bottle into a small recycled essential oil bottle!


5. DIY Thieves Disinfectant Spray*

Using a 2-ounce reusable amber spray bottle, I mixed myself a DIY version of Young Living's Thieve Spray. It's merely 15 drops of Thieves essential oil, 1 tsp. of Witch Hazel, and topped off with distilled water. Perfect for traveling!


6. Bamboo Toothbrush

After I brushed my way through a plastic toothbrush, I made the switch to bamboo. I use a charcoal bamboo toothbrush that is gentle on my teeth and gums, yet extremely useful.


7. Pill Organizer

I take lots of vitamins, I think my last count was 12 a day. I know there are vitamin alternatives, but I'm not going to waste what I already have. In using a weekly pill organizer, I can separate my pills not by the day but by type (i.e., vitamin c in one, iron in another, etc.). It keeps me organized, and the bright orange color reminds me to take them!


8. 3-in-1 Lotion (not pictured)*

I use a safe-for-the-environment and for you 3-in-1 Lotion for my skin, face, and hair. Why my hair? Well, having curly hair can be a pain, especially in warmer weather. I will often make a flaxseed gel, but I have to refrigerate it. Therefore, I will decant the lotion into a small bottle that will cover the 11 days I'm gone!


9. Razor

I use a men's razor. They're sharper, last a lot longer (great for this Italian girl), and don't have those annoying moisturizing strips. I also appreciate the handle being metal and not plastic. It may not be a safety razor, but I'm sticking with what works best for me.


10. Homéoplasmine (French Beauty Balm)*

This French beauty staple is fantastique. It's great for chapped lip and skin, and one tube lasts forever! It's not necessarily eco-friendly, but I wouldn't travel without it.


11. Eye Creme*

As I get older, so do the bags and lines around my eyes. Thankfully, I've discovered an eye creme that really works for me! It's a staple in my everyday skincare and will continue on my travels.


12. Makeup

I don't wear foundation, so that leaves lots of room in my bag. I'll also be taking lipstick, which I don't usually wear anymore, but hey, it's wedding season!

Here is what I wear regularly and will be taking in my bag:

Glossier Cloud Paint in Puff and Dusk**--Get 10% off your Glossier order by clicking on the link!

Glossier Skywash in Echo (a cocoa brown)** --

Get 10% off your Glossier order by clicking on the link!

DIY Face Powder (decanted into a smaller container)

MAC Matte Lipsticks in Ruby Woo & Russian Red (Perfect for mixing into the perfect shade of red!)

Chapstick


Well, that wraps it up! As someone who used to buy all the little tiny travel-sized things, I can now say I've worked to simplify and take only the basics.

What are your favorite travel items? Are you someone who tried to bring it all or someone whose more spontaneous?


*These items are liquids, and what will be going into my quart-size bag.

**These links contain a non-sponsored link where I may receive special promotions for referrals.

19 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page